Tara Bangalore’s Set, 04/22/2011

Here is the complete set by Carnatic violin virtuoso Tara Bangalore at the “World Violins Against Climate Change” concert in Boston on April 22. Her artistry is prodigious, and her rapport with her disciple Rasika Murali is absolutely delightful.


Tara Bangalore and Rasika Murali – violins;
Pravin Sitaram – mridangam;
Tarun Bangalore – kanjira and mridangam.

Listen and enjoy — and if you do, please consider donating to 350.org through this link.

Composition: “Abishta varada”
Ragam: Hamsadhwani
Adi talam- 8 beats
Composer: Tyagaraja


Ragam: Jaganmohini
Rupakam — 6 beats
Composed by Tyagaraja


Ragam: Latangi
Adi talam
Composed by Patnam Subramania Iyer


Thani Avartanam (Percussion Solo)


“Tom Dru Dru Dim”
Ragam: Misra Shivaranjani
Double beat – 16 beats Adi talam
Composed by: Maharajapuram Santhanam.


Absolutely correct, Rajeev – I will add that information shortly.

Credits should include names of accompanying artists too!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *